Asparagas Roll Up Recipe

So on the way to the grocery store, I was praying for a good sale on some kind of red meat because we had been eating a whole lot of chicken for the last couple of weeks. When I got there, I found what looked like a thin sliced sirloin not only on sale, but with a $2 off sticker slapped on the top of about 10 packages! The steak ended up being cheaper than chicken!

Thanks to this huge blessing, we have been eating this ‘sandwich steak’ every way you can imagine. One night for dinner, I made an asparagus roll up and it turned out to be wonderful.
IMG_5501.JPG

Ingredients:
4 slices of ‘sandwich steak’
1 bundle of asparagus
4 slices of provolone
1 Tbs of butter
Salt & Pepper

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Spread the softened butter in the bottom of a cast iron skillet.

Wash and trim the tough ends of the asparagus. Cut pieces in half.

Take a piece of the sandwich steak, put a piece of provolone over it and line the center with 3-4 pieces of asparagus.

Once you are done rolling all 4 slices, line the skillet with the remaining asparagus. Place the rolled steaks on top of the asparagus.

Salt & pepper the top of the steaks, cover with foil and place in oven.

Now at this point I have to confess that I really didn’t keep track of how long it roasted in the oven… Just keep checking to see when it’s done? LOL. It turned out wonderful, and my husband and 3 year old loved it so I guess that’s a win!

But seriously though. Plan a dinner for two, make this recipe and put on a record of Billy Eckstine. You couldn’t have a better evening. 🙂

So about all this blogging… When I started this blog a few weeks back, I seriously didn’t expect so many of you to start following & reading so quickly! You all are just so sweet! I really would live to get to know all of you. Please leave a comment, share your favorite recipe, or even just say hi! I promise I don’t bite. ^_^

Leave a comment