Why I’m not making resolutions this year…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/703/74516623/files/2015/01/img_5844.jpg

First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!! For some reason I am way more excited about this year than I have ever been before. I’m excited about this chance to reset and restart. For this chance to look at life with fresh eyes and work towards new goals.

If you’re thinking ‘new goals?’ and reading my title wondering why those two ideas seem to contradict… Don’t worry because I’m about to tell you how this is going to change your life.

When I looked up the definition of resolution, one of them was:
A firm decision to do or not to do something.

I realize that there are other definitions out there, but I chose the one that most people think of when they hear the words ‘New Year’s resolution’. It’s the beautiful hopes and dreams we have for the new year. It’s the ‘I’m going to get into shape’, ‘I’m going get up earlier’, and ‘I’m going to read more’ that we have planned for our lives.

It’s beautiful and it’s fun, for the two weeks that it lasts… None of us intentionally get sidetracked. The truth is, most of us want to continue. The problem was never with the resolutions, but rather the plans behind them.

A resolution without a plan for action is nothing more than a dream that lasts as long as our willpower. I don’t know about you, but my willpower ain’t all that strong… That’s why this year, instead of making resolutions, I made plans in my calendar.

For every resolution that I would have made, I set aside time in my calendar to carry out the goals I want to accomplish. Rather than resolving to get in shape, I set aside time in my calendar to work out. Rather than hoping that I can produce more product this year, I gave myself deadlines to create new things.

Making a resolution without a plan would be like a mom who didn’t make plans for meals, who hopes that dinner makes itself, and brings everyone to the table, assuming that everything is ready. Sometimes we get lucky, and Hubby brings take out home, but it usually doesn’t work that way… Wether you are a planner or not, it takes time and thought to make things happen. Our goals for the new year are no exception.

I’m sharing a very simple thought, I know, but it’s more difficult to carry out than it would seem!

ATTENTION:
While we’re on The topic of getting all organized and making things happen, I have been meaning to get an email subscription available to you, for the last several months. I’m excited to announce that this will finally be available to you starting this next Monday!!!

On Mondays, I will be blogging about things that are helping me to find balance as a work at home mom. Balance is something that I’ve been thinking about a lot. We all know that we need it but sometimes it’s hard to know what the practical application would be. That’s why I decided that I would like to start sharing simple tips and tricks that are helping me in this area.

On Wednesdays, I will be sharing fun family moments and some project progress photos so you can come along for our family time and keep me accountable keep track of the projects I am working on.

Then Fridays!!!! On Friday I will be sending out the subscription newsletter that will include a coupon for your next shopping trip to Tokyo Blossom Boutique, and a recap of Monday and Wednesday’s articles.

I am so excited, and I can’t wait to get to know you all better this year. If you have any questions about the subscription that will be available starting Monday, feel free to ask. I want to make this as enjoyable for all of you! Well, hope you all are not too tired from staying up late last night. 😉

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/703/74516623/files/2015/01/img_5847-0.jpg

One thought on “Why I’m not making resolutions this year…

  1. Pingback: Taking time for health: Part 1 |

Leave a Reply

