The dirty truth…

Not too long ago, I was listening to a podcast episode of Brilliant Business Moms that talked about ways to pursue integrity as a small business. BTW, if you guys have never heard of them, they are wonderful. Sarah and Beth Anne have a genuine desire to help other moms succeed in their various businesses.

One of the things that Sarah talked about was being honest with your readers. I don’t personally know anyone that would straight up lie to their readers, but she talked about not pretending to have it all together.

I seriously don’t know if anyone could see me and think I have it together, but for those of you who don’t know me personally, this is me making you KNOW that I don’t have it all together.

IMG_5265.JPG
Let me start with this recent photo I took, for a new pair of earrings that I added to my shop. I look so calm and relaxed… Well, I really wasn’t.

I was sick for about 2 days straight, at the beginning of the week. I was so weak that the only house work I managed to get done was laundry and the dishes. The crock pot saved my life at dinner time, and when I was playing with Sean, I was on the floor laying down.

I’m totally fine now, and I got caught up on cleaning my grimy floors on Saturday and Sunday afternoon, but that is the ‘dirty’ truth. I really don’t have it all together, and I am constantly searching for business and organizational ideas on Pinterest. ๐Ÿ˜†

Oh, and here’s another thing… My blouse and everything might look good together, but chances
are, I’m wearing PJ’s or athletic wear below the waist.

IMG_5267.JPG

Here’s the bottom line. By the time I get done grocery shopping with a toddler, putting all the groceries away, and getting dinner ready, I look just like any other tired mom in the grocery store checkout with a little bit of lipstick still on.

IMG_5268.JPG

So now that you know that I’m not perfect, we can all go about our day not worrying about comparing ourselves to others. Got it? You are fabulous and don’t let someone else’s perfection (or my lack thereof) rob you of your beauty and joy.

*I didn’t get paid or compensated to say all those nice things about Sarah and Beth Anne. They are just that amazing, and I can’t thank them enough for all of the inspiration I get from listening to their podcast.

5 thoughts on “The dirty truth…

  1. Julie, thanks so much for the mention! We think you’re really great too! Love this post! I need to take a picture of my messy house someday and put that up. On busy days with the podcast and shop, the house is definitely what goes and it looks a wreck! Business goal for the future – make enough each day that we can justify hiring someone to help clean ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Aww no problem! I totally agree. It would be amazing to have someone else clean the house. We just put in a new rule for our house this weekend. We don’t go out to eat very often so we can save on money, so we all agreed to use paper plates on the weekends. It helped so much, and I was able to get caught up a lot easier!

      Like

  2. This is just what it’s like to do Youtube videos. Most of us are in PJ bottoms. And fashion blogging, you pick out the five photos where you’re not making a get-that-sun-out-of-my-eyes face.

    Like

    • Haha yes! I’m the same way with the photos for my Etsy shop! Thankfully we just moved into a house where our office gets a lot of sunlight, so I am able to take photos without all the wind and over abundance of sunlight. ๐Ÿ˜†

      Like

  3. Pingback: Learning to get a life. | pin curls and flowers

Leave a Reply

